Apple is preparing an AI shopping assistant: a section about it turned up in the Apple Store privacy policy
In July 2026, Apple updated the privacy policy for its Apple Store app and, for the first time, mentioned an AI shopping assistant that has not yet been released. The document now includes a section titled "Virtual Shopping Assistant." The company has disclosed neither a launch date nor any details of how it works. Apple usually prepares its legal language in advance, which suggests a release may be close.
AI-processed from 3DNews AI; edited by Hamidun News
In July 2026, Apple updated the privacy policy for its Apple Store app and added a section titled "Virtual Shopping Assistant." It is the company's first official mention of an AI shopping assistant that has not yet been released.
What changed in the policy
Apple added a new section, "Virtual Shopping Assistant," to the Apple Store app's privacy policy, according to 3DNews. The assistant itself has not launched, but the legal document already states that the app will process user data to run it. Publishing such a clause before release is standard practice for Apple: the legal wording is prepared in advance so that everything complies with data-processing requirements by the time the feature ships.
"Virtual
Shopping Assistant" is the name of the new section in the updated Apple Store app privacy policy, according to 3DNews.
Why did this surface before an announcement?
Updates to privacy policies often reveal features before official announcements. Companies must describe data collection before a feature goes live, so legal documents become a source of information about their plans. In the case of the Apple Store, the new section names the product outright: a "virtual shopping assistant." As of July 2026, however, the company has not disclosed a release date, details of how it works, or the model behind the assistant.
What is known about the AI assistant
All that is known about the Apple Store AI assistant so far is its purpose: helping with purchases inside the app. Apple has not announced a launch date, the regions where it will be available, or the language model it is built on. One point is worth clarifying: the Apple Store is the company's branded app for buying iPhone, Mac and accessories and for booking service appointments. It is not the App Store, which distributes games and software. Judging by the updated policy, the assistant will be built into the former.
Context: AI in shopping
AI shopping assistants are already an established trend. Amazon launched its Rufus chatbot back in 2024, which helps users choose products and answers questions about them, and Walmart and other retailers are adding similar features. Conversational interfaces are gradually replacing the familiar catalog search: the user describes the task in words, and the assistant picks the product. Against this backdrop, Apple's move looks like a logical continuation of a market trend rather than an independent breakthrough.
What this means
Major retailers and tech companies are building AI assistants directly into the purchase journey, and Apple, judging by the updated policy, is preparing its own. For now it is only a line in a legal document, but it confirms that a conversational shopping assistant inside the Apple Store is a matter of when, not if.
- Oct 28, 2026Liquid AI releases LFM2.5-24B-A2B: an agent model with 2B active parameters
- Oct 28, 2026PyTorch 2.15 speeds up MoE models on Mac by 5–6.5x and adds FP8
- Oct 26, 2026SpaceXAI Bundles Grok, Cursor and X Into a Single Subscription From $8 a Month
- Oct 26, 2026Apple to unveil HomeView smart hub on Tuesday, Gurman reports
Key Questions Answered
Why did this surface before an announcement?
Updates to privacy policies often reveal features before official announcements. Companies must describe data collection before a feature goes live, so legal documents become a source of information about their plans. In the case of the Apple Store, the new section names the product outright: a "virtual shopping assistant." As of July 2026, however, the company has not disclosed a release date, details of how it works, or the model behind the assistant.
What changed in the policy?
Apple added a new section, "Virtual Shopping Assistant," to the Apple Store app's privacy policy, according to 3DNews. The assistant itself has not launched, but the legal document already states that the app will process user data to run it. Publishing such a clause before release is standard practice for Apple: the legal wording is prepared in advance so that everything complies with data-processing requirements by the time the feature ships. "Virtual Shopping Assistant" is the name of the new section in the updated Apple Store app privacy policy, according to 3DNews.
What is known about the AI assistant?
All that is known about the Apple Store AI assistant so far is its purpose: helping with purchases inside the app. Apple has not announced a launch date, the regions where it will be available, or the language model it is built on. One point is worth clarifying: the Apple Store is the company's branded app for buying iPhone, Mac and accessories and for booking service appointments. It is not the App Store, which distributes games and software. Judging by the updated policy, the assistant will be built into the former.
Test Frontier LLMs & Autonomous Agents in One Workspace
Run Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-6, Gemini 3.1, and DeepSeek side-by-side in Nomad AI (nomadnet.ai) — unified model routing, deep research, and multimodal workflows under one subscription.
The AI world, distilled — once a week
Seven stories that actually mattered, hand-picked. No noise, no reposts, no press releases.
Done! Check your inbox for a confirmation.