ChatGPT Moves to GPT-5.6: OpenAI Lifts Text Limits and Adds a Think Button for Free Users

OpenAI has announced that from August 18, 2026, free ChatGPT moves to GPT-5.6 and gets unlimited text chat. A Think button will launch at the same time: a deeper-reasoning mode for complex tasks. Limits on files and images remain. It is the biggest upgrade to the free tier in some time.

AI-processed from The Verge; edited by Hamidun News
ChatGPT Moves to GPT-5.6: OpenAI Lifts Text Limits and Adds a Think Button for Free Users
Source: The Verge. Collage: Hamidun News.
Listen to article
Article Fact Sheet & Key Figures
ParameterDetails
Primary sourceThe Verge ↗
Editor-in-Chief
Unlimited text chatsfrom August 18, 2026, on the Free and Go tiers
GPT-5.6 as the default modelfrom August 11, 2026
Think button for extended reasoningfrom August 18, 2026

On August 11, 2026, OpenAI announced that it is lifting limits on text chats for ChatGPT's free and Go tiers. The changes take effect next week, around August 18, alongside the launch of the Think button, a new deeper-reasoning mode for complex tasks.

What changes for free users

Starting August 18, 2026, ChatGPT's free and Go tiers will no longer cap the number of text messages. Users previously hit limits after a certain number of requests; text conversations now become fully unlimited. Restrictions remain only for messages with attachments: uploaded files and images.

At the same time, according to OpenAI's official blog, the default model for free and Go users is being updated to GPT-5.6 this week (from August 11, 2026). It is a more powerful version that was previously available mainly to paying subscribers.

  • Unlimited text chats: from August 18, 2026, on the Free and Go tiers
  • GPT-5.6 as the default model: from August 11, 2026
  • Think button for extended reasoning: from August 18, 2026
  • Limits on messages with files and images: remain in place
  • The Plus ($20/month) and Pro ($200/month) tiers are not affected by this update

What is the Think button

The Think button is a new feature for free and Go ChatGPT users that unlocks an extended reasoning mode for complex questions. According to OpenAI's official announcement, the mode uses additional compute for tasks that require multi-step logic: math, coding, and in-depth analysis.

"Users will get access to a higher level of reasoning for complex questions,"

OpenAI says in an official statement published on the company's blog.

Extended reasoning modes were previously available only on paid ChatGPT tiers. The Think button for free accounts is a lighter form of that capability: OpenAI is gradually opening "heavy reasoning" tools to a wider audience while preserving price differentiation through limits on files and images.

Why OpenAI is loosening limits on the free tier

OpenAI has been steadily narrowing the gap between free and paid access to ChatGPT, amid competition from Google Gemini and Anthropic Claude. Both competitors have expanded the capabilities of their free tiers in recent months, lowering the barriers to access to powerful language models.

The new offer has clear boundaries: despite unlimited text, file uploads and image work remain behind a paywall. This preserves the key advantages of the Plus and Pro tiers for professional users.

What this means

Basic access to GPT-5.6, unlimited text chat, and a Think mode with no monthly fee make this the most significant upgrade to free ChatGPT in some time. Users who kept running into limits will get a qualitatively new tool by August 18, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

When will ChatGPT lift the limits on text chats?

Limits on text messages for the Free and Go tiers are being lifted the week of August 18, 2026, according to OpenAI's official announcement. The company has not specified an exact date.

Will limits on files and images remain in free ChatGPT?

Yes, restrictions on messages with attachments (files and images) remain even after the text limits are lifted. Only text conversation becomes unlimited.

Story

Key Questions Answered

When will ChatGPT lift the limits on text chats?

Limits on text messages for the Free and Go tiers are being lifted the week of August 18, 2026, according to OpenAI's official announcement. The company has not specified an exact date.

Will limits on files and images remain in free ChatGPT?

Yes, restrictions on messages with attachments (files and images) remain even after the text limits are lifted. Only text conversation becomes unlimited.

What changes for free users?

Starting August 18, 2026, ChatGPT's free and Go tiers will no longer cap the number of text messages. Users previously hit limits after a certain number of requests; text conversations now become fully unlimited. Restrictions remain only for messages with attachments: uploaded files and images. At the same time, according to OpenAI's official blog, the default model for free and Go users is being updated to GPT-5.6 this week (from August 11, 2026). It is a more powerful version that was previously available mainly to paying subscribers. Unlimited text chats: from August 18,

ZK
Zhemal Khamidun — CPO at Alpina Digital, product manager of AlpinaGPT. Building AI products since 2019. Hamidun News is a pet project that grew into a production aggregator with 6,000+ readers.
✦ Unified AI Workspace · Nomad

Test Frontier LLMs & Autonomous Agents in One Workspace

Run Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-6, Gemini 3.1, and DeepSeek side-by-side in Nomad AI (nomadnet.ai) — unified model routing, deep research, and multimodal workflows under one subscription.

Try Nomad AI →Launch Nomad Agent
What do you think?
Loading comments…